A Chef of Nobunaga – Mitsuru Nishimura/Takuro Kajikawa

This year is going incredibly fast! I’m already studying for the next JLPT exam; which is scheduled for December. Its not really difficult to want to study though. This isn’t like an elective class in college, where you’re taking it for the sole purpose of getting credits to graduate. As the material I’m working on for the exam correlates with that I’m wanting to work on my Japanese literacy, it’s not so much of a chore.

Its a bit frustrating, to pick up a Japanese cookbook, magazine, or comic (manga) and only be able to read some of the material. For those of you who know Japanese, for younger readers who may not know all of the basic kanji, written text will put in small hiragana or katakana the reading of the kanji. However, much of the stuff I like to read is for older audiences, and its expected that you know the words/readings of the kanji. So, I get annoyed.

At some point I will be able to understand things better. When I get to that point then hopefully my summaries will be a bit more detailed.

I’ve been meaning to write something for a while on some of the comics I’ve been buying. Last weekend I picked up A Chef of Nobunaga. This series began in March 2011, and is still ongoing. There’s also a Japanese drama with the same name. Unfortunately this series is not yet available in English.

A Chef of Nobunaga

This series is about a chef named Ken living in the present. For some reason (there’s always some reason) he gets transported back to the Sengoku period of Japan. The Sengoku period is a period in Japan from around 1467 to early 1600s. Generally it was a time of civil war within Japan. Oda Nobunaga was a powerful warlord in Japan during the latter portion of the Sengoku period that took over around a third of Japan. Back to the manga; apparently Ken somehow ends up in the service of Oda Nobunaga, as his personal chef.

IMG_4024

Because of the audience intended for the series, it’s pretty hard to read. So I don’t know much more about the series than what I could cobble together on the internet. However, the art style is very good, and there’s definitely a good amount of food art throughout the first volume.

Leave a Reply

